RaqiSa Fitness: Kicked Up Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

 IMG_2795

Fresh, clean, lively, and spicy are my chosen adjectives to describe this delicious, fast and easy salad.  While it is true that the ingredients in this Mediterranean Quinoa Salad are close to that of the traditional Lebanese tabouli salad I grew up enjoying, you will never hear me say, nor will you read in writing that this salad is a “tabouli salad.”  Why?  Because I have too much respect for the labour of love involved in preparing a traditional Lebanese tabouli salad.  Each ingredient traditionally is chopped to perfection, and when assembled together, it takes an artistic eye to know the balance of parsley to cracked wheat. Hailed by my mother as the “Christmas” salad for the balance of green, red, and white hues; this salad doesn’t quite meet the criteria. In fact it is such an involved labour of love, that when I was single, I created “Tabouli Making Parties” with my girlfriends just to share the chopping time and the camaraderie in both preparation and serving.  On one occasion, my dear friend’s husband introduced to me for the first time ever, to serve a jalapeno pepper to individual tabouli portions.  I was quizzical at first. But, I had to try it.  It was such a surprising addition that it made the cut in this quinoa salad.

RaQuisa SM_Logo_2c-JPEG 2.11.2014 copy

Fast forward many years, many jobs, a husband and two children later.  Today I need fast, healthy, and easy.  So, I created this salad to cut the time and with a modern…casual spin.  While I personally can eat a whole bowl, (which I did), it is technically “two” servings.  I also do not use all the dressing for this portion, just to watch my calorie in take, but one could if they really enjoy the flavors…Okay, I used most of the dressing.  In all seriousness, the instructions are to simply assemble all the ingredients together and add the delicious salad dressing.  Serve chilled and enjoy each and every bite.  Prepare to feel alive and energetic.  In fact – it’s the perfect incentive to exercise!

P.S.  I promise, I will share with you my mother’s Lebanese Tabouli recipe, but for now, enjoy this toward good health!

IMG_2788
DRESSING INGREDIENTS: 3 oz of olive oil, Juice of one lemon, 1 crushed garlic clove, 2 pinches of dried mint, salt to taste. *Stir together.
IMG_2783
INGREDIENTS: 1 C of cooked and cooled quinoa, 1 cup of finely chopped parsley, 2 tomatoes finely chopped, 1 Tbs of chopped fresh mint, 1/2 of a small white onion chopped, 1 Jalapeño sliced and served on the side, Salt to taste. *Combine with dressing and fold all the ingredients together.
2 thoughts on “RaqiSa Fitness: Kicked Up Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

